PDA

View Full Version : Mismatch between rig and amp

ND4JS
10-20-2010, 08:21 AM
I have been using a Ten Tec OMNI C with a clipperton L amp for some time now, but just recently noticed that there is a high swr between the rig and amp.
Ten Tec usually can handle high mismatches but I am wondering what I should do? Would it be a good idea to put a small antenna tuner between the rig and amp?

What would you do?

Thanks and 73 Jay KC4PHR

NN4RH
10-20-2010, 10:22 AM
I am no amplifier expert and I've never heard of "Clipperton L" amps, but it seems to me that amplfiers ought to be designed for 50 ohm input. If it is, it should match your 50 ohm output of the TenTec with nothing else needed

So if there's a high SWR between the two, that would indicate a problem. Sticking a tuner in there won't fix the problem.

Run the radio only to a 50 ohm dummy load using the same cable. If the SWR is good to the dummy load, then the problem is with the amplifier. If the SWR is bad then try a different cable. If it's good with a different cable, then the problem is with the cable. If it's still bad, the problem is with the radio.

That's as far as I go since I don't know anything about amplifier input circuits.

W8JI
10-20-2010, 11:29 AM
While you may have a cable problem, Dentron manufactured many amps without tuned input and without matching on the input to 50 ohms. The Clipperton falls into that category. Some of their amps that did have tuned inputs had wrong component values on some bands.

The best thing to do is add a tuned input system, but in some cases using the tuner in the rig or an external tuner will work..

http://www.w8ji.com/tuned_input_circuit.htm

KD1MA
10-20-2010, 01:23 PM
W8JI

As always, when I saw a reference to your site I immediately went to it to read what you had to say. At the bottom of the article, I came across this:

Using Tuners in Radios, or External Tuners, for Matching