PDA

View Full Version : RG59 OK?

W1GVT
08-07-2010, 10:02 AM
Newbie here. I'm looking to put together an inexpensive antenna for a FT-101B.

I've got a 25' length of RG59. Would that be suitable for a feed-through to the antenna from my basement shack? Thanks.

W8JI
08-07-2010, 11:57 AM

I've got a 25' length of RG59. Would that be suitable for a feed-through to the antenna from my basement shack? Thanks.

Depends on the antenna and the frequency. It will work fine in a lot of cases.

W1GVT
08-08-2010, 01:28 PM
Well, I'm probably going to use something like a GR5V to cover 10-80 meters. If it helps, I'll be going from the FT101B to a MFJ-941 then out to the antenna so I'm looking for suggestions. This is my first base setup so I'm not really stuck on anything.

I have a good length of the RG59 so that is why I asked about using it as a feedline but if you can suggest something better for an all purpose setup I'm happy to listen. Thanks!

KD0CAC
08-08-2010, 02:00 PM
I am posting to read answers , and share what little info I have gained so far .
If I am remembering correctly , the RG-59 is 75 ohm , most modern rigs are built to see 50 ohm , but you have an older tube rig , so may be less of a issue , they take a wider spectrum of input , as I understand .
The tuner maybe on the narrow range of of what it will tune , but again not sure of the spec.s .
But putting a station together starts with a plan of things that will hopefully work together , then testing to see if the plan worked out , in this case getting everything that you mentioned put up as close as possible to the design / factory recommendations , antenna height above ground etc. then putting some test equipment in place , like an antenna analyzer to see what may need tuning / adjustment .
If things do not work the 1st time , that were being a ham and seeing what it takes to make things to work well is 1/2 the fun , as I see it .