PDA

View Full Version : Gap vs. butternut vs cushcraft verticals, which is best????

KE5ZYP
05-16-2009, 08:52 PM
I need to employ a multi-band vertical for HF phone due to lack of real estate and have been checking out GAP, butternut and the Cushcraft models. I can easily run some radials on the ground. Please weigh in with your experience or suggestions for this new technician soon to be general class ham.

Thanks & 73's,

Grant / KE5ZYP

NN4RH
05-16-2009, 10:31 PM
Don't rule out the Hustler BTV series. They do pretty good.

I've had a 6BTV and currently have a Butternut HF2V + 30m coil., and a HyGain AV18VS that I've modified somewhat.

I have no experience with the GAP or Cushraft.

The 6BTV is a trap design for 80/75, 40, 30, 20, 15 and 10m. The main drawback in my opinion was very narrow 2:1 bandwidth on 80/75. The main advantage is that they are the lowest cost.

The Butternut HF2V is 80/75, 40 and 15 meters. With the 30m coil I use it on 30, too. It's taller than the Hustler BTV, a full 1/4 wavelength on 40m. It's still narrow on 80/75 but not as narrow as the BTV. There are 6 and 9 band versions of the Butternut.

The HyGain AV18VS is a less expensive base loaded vertical about 20 feet tall. I modified it by throwing away the base loading coil, and just adjust the length to change bands. This is usually my 20m antenna but right now it's set up for 10m. I could also use it on 17, 15, 12 if I wanted to.

All three of these can be mounted on the ground, or elevated on a mast. Either way, they need radials. If elevated, 2 tuned radials for each band. If they are ground-mounted, the lengths of the radials don't need to be tuned, but you need more of them. My HF2V has about 40 under it, and the HyGain AV18VS 16 (with more to come whenever I get around to it). More radials, lower angle of radiation and better efficiency.

KJ4CMG
05-16-2009, 11:46 PM