PDA

View Full Version : IC-7000 Good for DX?

KB3SKU
04-03-2009, 03:41 PM
Im saving for the IC-7000 right now and should hopefully have it in about 5 months or less. Im only a Technician and i am studying for the general off and on.

My question is,is the IC-7000 good for DXing once i get my General License? i ask cause i cant really afford those big expensive DX rigs :( . I might want to try DXing sooner or later. DXing sounds very interesting and fun :)

err i think the correct term is DX Contesting sorry :(

Thank you in advance for the help.

N7WR
04-03-2009, 03:47 PM
DX ing is a lot of fun and yes since the IC 7000 covers all the amateur HF bands it is fine for DX ing....so are a whole lot of less expensive rigs both new and used. If $$$ is limited I would consider a less expensive HF rig and put the difference into a good antenna and quality feedline. Especially given the poor propagation at this time in the sunspot cycle a quality antenna will prove to be a big advantage.

WB2WIK
04-03-2009, 03:56 PM
DX ing is a lot of fun and yes since the IC 7000 covers all the amateur HF bands it is fine for DX ing....so are a whole lot of less expensive rigs both new and used. If $$$ is limited I would consider a less expensive HF rig and put the difference into a good antenna and quality feedline. Especially given the poor propagation at this time in the sunspot cycle a quality antenna will prove to be a big advantage.

::Yup.

The IC-7000 is a mobile rig, and a very good one. If you intend to use it only "at home" and not mobile, and are willing to give up the VHF band coverage the IC-7000 offers to focus on just "DXing," there are way better used rigs you could buy for less than the cost of an IC-7000, that will run rings around the little Icom and are also a bit easier to use.

For "DXing," there are a few main ingredients:

1. Timing and propagation (directly related)
2. Operator skill
3. Antenna system

and a very distant fourth is