PDA

View Full Version : WRL Globe Scout 65, 65A, 65B

NN4RH
02-11-2009, 11:42 AM
Anyone know what were the differences between the World Radio Labs Globe Scout 65, 65A and 65B models?

I've read the blurbs you can find at www.worldradiolabs.com and they mention the 65A had "improved metering circuit" and "new selector switch for crystal or VFO" but is that all there was to it?

As for any difference between 65B and 65A, they don't say, and that's what I'm primarily interested in.

KA4DPO
02-11-2009, 03:56 PM
I'm no expert but I think the primary difference between the 65A and B models was that the B had improved TVI shielding and filtering.

W4HAY
02-11-2009, 04:50 PM
The crystal/VFO switch is a definite improvement. Some crystal oscillator circuits become unstable when driven by a VFO.

KL7AJ
02-11-2009, 05:02 PM
Anyone know what were the differences between the World Radio Labs Globe Scout 65, 65A and 65B models?

I've read the blurbs you can find at www.worldradiolabs.com and they mention the 65A had "improved metering circuit" and "new selector switch for crystal or VFO" but is that all there was to it?

As for any difference between 65B and 65A, they don't say, and that's what I'm primarily interested in.

Send an email to this guy:
wa5etk@sbcglobal.net

Gene is a bit of a Globe guru.

eric

KA4DPO
02-11-2009, 05:08 PM
The crystal/VFO switch is a definite improvement. Some crystal oscillator circuits become unstable when driven by a VFO.

I know the original Globe Scout had a 6V6 oscillator that required a lot of drive. Unless you had a WRL or Hallicrafters VFO with high output you had to change the oscillator tube in order to drive it with lower power VFO's.

I also remember that it used frequency doubling on several bands and could be a harmonic generator without some filtering on the output.