PDA

View Full Version : Solar Ham Radio Going OFF THE GRID

KD8IIS
12-26-2008, 05:01 PM
:DI thank everyone who replied to my last solar thread, much appreciated. After reviewing all the different types of options, I decided to go with the 45 watt Chicago Electirc Kit offered by Harbor Freight.

http://www.harborfreight.com/cpi/ctaf/displayitem.taf?Itemnumber=90599

I have 2 Deep cycle Marine battery. Do I wire them in series or in Parrallel? I'm assuming parallel since Ham radio requires 12 volts. (I use the Yaesu FT-450)

How long could I expect to transmit CW at 100 watts, and at 5 watts, with two fully charged (ran in parallel)?

I am new to solar energy and I know there are formulas to determine this, I haven't learned them yet. Nor would I trust my results if I did do the math without asking first. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Can I leave the Batteries in my apartment to be recharged? Or should I build a little Milk Crate out back? I know the batteries produce Hydrogen, But is that only if the batt is overcharged; or does the hydrogen result as a normal prcess of recharging? I live in Ohio so we get lots of sub zero WX. Putting them outside might create

Does anyone else deal with Ice and Snow with their solar panels and how do you deal with that? Does it shorten the life of the panels?

Hypotheticly speaking, (I'm not going to do this!) could I use a 110 volt Battery charger hooked to a 350 watt Inverter, which is in turn hooked directly to the solar panels to regulate the charge on the batteries?

KI6RYC
12-26-2008, 06:42 PM
:DI thank everyone who replied to my last solar thread, much appreciated. After reviewing all the different types of options, I decided to go with the 45 watt Chicago Electirc Kit offered by Harbor Freight.

I have 2 Deep cycle Marine battery. Do I wire them in series or in Parrallel? I'm assuming parallel since Ham radio requires 12 volts. (I use the Yaesu FT-450)