PDA

View Full Version : KW-40 7.150 Mhz 40m traps by Unadilla / Reyco

Pushraft
11-07-2008, 04:06 AM
I have a pair of KW-40 7.150 Mhz 40m traps made by Unadilla / Reyco. I was wondering if these would be of any use to me for a newbie setup. I am still experimenting with wire antennas and an attic dipole but I have limited space so a true 40m dipole wont fit in the attic but a 17m will or maybe 20m if I cheat a little and zigzag it up and down a little or use part of an adjacent wall.

I am not sure what traps actually do so could someone explain to me what they do and if they would be of any use for my limited space newbie setup? When I say newbie I dont mean I have my ticket yet I mean I am studying and trying to digest a lot of theory in a short amount of time to ramp up to speed. Is newbie the right term or is there another term normally used for people in my situation? ham wannabe?

Anyway it appears these KW-40 coils were used on a boat because I see a single central feed with a central eyehook for suspending it and two more side mounted eyehooks for suspending the legs of the dipoles down to a pair of dogbone anchor thingies. It appears this was an inverted V setup on a boat using 40m coils.

So that is my question if these coils are of any use for me or if I should sell them to someone who can actually benefit from them? I am thinking I could also erect an inverted V from a high window down to a fence about 45 away (sloped from a 20 foot window down to a 6 foot fence). That is not my preferred method I would rather just chuck a wire up to a nearby tree also about 20 feet off the ground maybe tied to a tennis ball or something. The wire on this antenna appears to be frayed in certain spots so I would probably need to use new wire if I decided to keep the coils but I need advice if they are of any benefit to me.

KJ4AUR
11-07-2008, 03:24 PM
Removed May 07, 2009

WB3BEL
11-07-2008, 03:59 PM