PDA

View Full Version : J-Pole going mobile? Insight appreciated

KC9LWC
06-07-2008, 05:49 AM
Well here is my dilemma ...

I am a poor college student and buying a $100 mobile antenna is a real stretch for me. So I have been thinking how I can get by with a fantastic antenna and save myself some money. The terrain in my portion of the state is rather rough, and with storm spotting a solid signal is a real nice thing to have. I have a homebrew j-pole built from 1/2 inch diameter copper pipe, 58 inches w/ 19 inch tuning stub. The 'mounting post' on the bottom is 11 inches long, this is the copper pipe which falls below the tuning stub. The J-pole is 1.2:1 or less through out the 2 meter band. Now to the punch line.

I want to mount it for mobile operations. I have heard recommendations of a bumper mount of some kind or perhaps I could find some mount to put it on the trunk lid.

A goofy looking antenna? YES! A stout performer? YES!

Let's hear your thoughts on this..

SWR issues with it being near the trunk?

Performance vs. 5/8 wave mag mount or trunk lid mount

Ways to mount it, mount ideas?????

73s all --- have fun with this one :D

KD5QFL
06-07-2008, 06:21 AM
LWC, I have a copper j-pole at the house and a Tram 5/8($20) on a fender mount.
The J-pole is 3X the height of the 5/8 and the 5/8 outperforms the j-pole by a wide margin. There's quite a few stations/repeaters that I can hear on the mobile that I can't hear on the J-pole.

In fact, I'm thinking about setting a 5/8 as a base antenna and delegate the j-pole to the parts pile.

Will

p.s. I'm not sure, but I believe the J-pole has the same gain as a dipole whilst the 5/8 has 3dB gain.

WA9SVD
06-07-2008, 10:02 AM
Well here is my dilemma ...