PDA

View Full Version : Another report of Phishing


W1GUH
01-22-2007, 04:02 PM
Hope I'm preaching to the choir here, but just in case, I'm reporting this.

I got two or three phishing emails last week about how "due to unusual activity your internet banking is about to be suspended. #Just click the link below..."

It was very well done and they had all the logos and everything "just right" and it was scary. #

So I called Bank of America and the response was that there was nothing wrong with my account, and that was probably phishing. #They told me to forward it to

"abuse@bankofamerica.com". #So I did and got the reply that it wasn't from them and thanks for the heads up.

In general, not matter how good and official it looks, any similar email that asks you to click a link is probably phishing. #I know that neither PayPal or eBay will ever send an email with a clickable link, and that's probably true for any legitimate business that emails you. #They will ask you to call or sign into your account like you usually do.

Probably known by everybody by now, but this one was so well done it had me going til I talked to the bank.

K7KBN
01-22-2007, 04:53 PM
Just about every financial institution, plus eBay and PayPal, has an email address that you can forward these things to. Forward them without opening them, then delete them from your inbox.

w5klb
01-22-2007, 06:35 PM
Windoze Internet Exploder has a one them Phishing Filters that came with it. I haven't caught any Phish yet, so it must be working.

Speaking of Phish, some day I would like do a little research on using Mackerel Wave.

http://www.qrz.com/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/biggrin.gif

KG6YTZ
01-23-2007, 05:46 AM
Oh, I always get a really good laugh out of those e-mails "from Bank of America," advising me that my account may have been compromised, needs to be updated, I need to re-enter my personal info, etc.

I do not have, and have never had, any account with Bank of America. http://www.qrz.com/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/tounge.gif