PDA

View Full Version : K0FF 6-Meter Loop antenna - Help!

W8RSI
01-08-2007, 10:19 AM
Hello,

I assembled most of a 6m Loop antenna today, using K0FF's instructions as given Here (http://www.qsl.net/k4pwo/sloop.htm)

I am new to homebrew antennas, this is actually my first project. I guess I just dont understand what exactly a butterfly is and exactly how it should be attached to the antenna. I have assembled everything but, and not surprisingly have very high SWR without it, so apparently it's important http://www.qrz.com/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/biggrin.gif

Can anyone post pictures or give some better instructions for a new antenna builder like me? I guess I just dont get it and I already spent all this money on copper parts that I've hacked up & would really like to get on the air with it.

Attached is a picture of what I have so far...

WB7DMX
01-08-2007, 02:18 PM
I would start by double checking your dimensions as your ant does not look the same as the one in the instructions.
the gamma matching stub appears to on a angle instead of parallel to the ant element, suggesting that something is wrong.
also did you strip the outer covering jacket and the shielding off the coax that is inside the gamma ?

K8CQ
01-08-2007, 03:03 PM
Paul,