PDA

View Full Version : SCAMMER BEWARE: paul demango in london..SCAMMER


k8rr
12-16-2006, 04:25 PM
I have an item [ DRAKE RV-75} listed for sale on this site. I am attaching a copy of an email I received from a "paul demango" in LONDON , UK. #Read the letter it needs NO explanation. #The email follows:

Hello,
I read your message with great sense of understanding.

The price is okay by me,I will go ahead and Instruct a personal client in the states to issue you a certified cashier check or money order which would cover all expenses for it. It is most likely you would get it sometime next week or even sooner.

He will be issueing you a cashiers check or money order to the tune of $7,300 The reason being that after you deduct your #$1,150 and other expenses emanating from all forms of charges.

The rest could be wired by you to an international shipping agent via western union money transfer,who will be communicated to you in due time.

He will help in the shipping of the item to my location I would want it to be packaged and delivered in the safest and most proffesional way.

The shipper is likely to be reluctant to pick it up until he is mobilised, i.e the balance wired to him is his fees for his services,tranportation to and fro,clearing and all other ch arges involved in this transaction okay.

He would be advised to come to your house or the location that you give me for him to pick it up as soon as he is mobilized by the funds you send to him.

Also before I forget send me your full name and contact address as should appear on the check or money order and to Take #where it is going to be sent to and for shippers pick up point, and also your phone number so I can always contact you on to monitor proceeding of things.please do get back as soon as possible.

PAUL.

Below are our contact details:
118 Fortune Green Road,NW6 1DH, London,
Telephone: 44 7040 1935 53
E mail:pauldemango_2@yahoo.com

Any one else had contact with this "fellow"?/

73's #Doc Sheller # K8RR

KM5FL
12-16-2006, 08:19 PM
I can't believe you haven't heard about this scam?? ?? ??It has to be oldest scam out there. It's been circulating for at least 8 years that I know of. I received it the first time in 1998.

It's had the same "format" for years, only the name changes. You receive a reply to your ad: "I see you have something for sale. Someone owes me a large sum of money (or I have a client who will help me with the process)..... We will purchase your item at a grossly inflated price. I send you the money, and will send an "agent" to pick up the item.. You send the overage funds to me (or my agent).."

You can't see thru this scam??? Here's how it works... You receive a bogus or counterfeit check or money order. You deposit it and send the guy the excess amount and turn over your item. When that bogus payment runs thru your banking system and bounces, you are out over $5,000 AND the loss of your for sale item.....

I can guarantee you that every bit of contact info in that message is bogus.

Best advice: Ignore the whole thing.


KM5FL