PDA

View Full Version : Kenwood TS-570

07-04-2002, 01:53 PM
<span style='font-size:12pt;line-height:100%'>I&#39;ve</span> been using my 570 now for about three months. #Here&#39;s some of my observations - as a primarily CW operator, I think that this rig was designed primarily for SSB work. #The receiver is good but only after you buy the additional CW filter. #After using the rig for about two months, I had to go out and buy the additional 500 CW filter. #Without the filter, the front-end is so easily overloaded by strong nearby signals. #It&#39;s so wide without the filter that you can&#39;t even hear the signal that&#39;s overloading you - you can see it on the meter and the automatic AGC will drop out any of the weaker signals. #With the filter, the problem was solved. #Sometimes, DSP can&#39;t keep up with the good ol&#39; mechanical filters.

There&#39;s another thing, the AGC - I&#39;d like to be able to turn it off, not just from slow to fast.

The digital noise reduction (NR2) which they recommend for CW work, seems to have a ringing sound just at the same frequency as the CW pitch. #I find I have to tune up or down a bit to better hear the signal I&#39;m working. #

Some of you may like having knobs on the front to control everything. #If you do, or are uncomfortable with doing the menu thing, then this may cause you some discomfort. #You get used to it in short order, but nearly everything is menu driven. #

I&#39;m getting used to the DSP, but I miss a good ol&#39; notch filter. #But it&#39;s got this really, really neat thing called a beat filter for SSB. #Seriously, if you have a heterodyne going on while on SSB, just push the button and <span style='color:GREEN'>presto</span> it&#39;s gone&#33; #Only wish the CW auto tune worked as well - that button will get dusty on my rig. #